GIVE ME ALL

1st John 1:7- But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus his Son cleanses us from all sin.

What does it mean to walk in the Light if the Light is Christ? How does that happen in our daily life? Walking in the light means opening your whole heart and life to him. All of us have opened part of our heart but there are rooms in our heart that are still dark and we have not invited Jesus to shine a light in. That’s what he demands if we are to have KOINONIA fellowship with him.

Greek word for sin is Hamartia which means to miss the mark. Where does the word SIN come from?

archeryWhen the King James Version of the Bible was written in the very early 1600’s, the English language as we know it today was still in its early stages of development. Think Shakespeare as this was during his time. The word “sin” was used to describe the idea of man breaking one of God’s commandments and in the original King James it was actually spelled SYNN. The commandments were the things God demanded that we shoot for. It was our moral target and the word Synn was actually an archery term. One of the major sports of the day was shooting arrows with a bow at a distant target. The shooters would stand at a line and a target was placed some distance away. The shooters could not see the target very well so someone was placed near enough to the target to see the results but not so close as to be in harm’s way. As each arrow flew, if that arrow missed the mark, the spotter would yell “SYNN!” So the word synn was adopted to describe this word for missing God’s target

1st John 1:8- If we say we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us.

John 14:6- Jesus replied, “I am the way, the truth and the life. No one comes to Father except through me.”

Essentially, based on John 14:6, if the truth is not in us, Jesus is not in us.

The warning here is not to deceive ourselves and deceiving ourselves is the number one problem in the Christian church, my life and your life. The reason they call them blind spots is because we can’t see them. Duhhh. Jesus must show them to us for us to know they are there.

Greek word for deceive is planaō-to lead away from the truth, to lead into error, to deceive

1st John 1:9- If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

IF! A quick prayer at night that ask God to “please forgive all my sins” is not confessing. We ask God to forgive all our sins once and he does it for all time but John is writing here to Christians who’ve already been forgiven of their sins so why is he teaching them to confess their sins so they will be forgiven? Well we all continue to sin we just are no longer able to sin freely as we once did (if we are saved and growing in Christ) and when we acknowledge/confess it is part of growing. We will always sin. The greatest Christian whoever lived was Paul and look at his struggle with sin:

Romans 7:14-25- So the trouble is not with the law, for it is spiritual and good. The trouble is with me, for I am all too human, a slave to sin. 15 I don’t really understand myself, for I want to do what is right, but I don’t do it. Instead, I do what I hate. 16 But if I know that what I am doing is wrong, this shows that I agree that the law is good. 17 So I am not the one doing wrong; it is sin living in me that does it.18 And I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. I want to do what is right, but I can’t. 19 I want to do what is good, but I don’t. I don’t want to do what is wrong, but I do it anyway. 20 But if I do what I don’t want to do, I am not really the one doing wrong; it is sin living in me that does it.21 I have discovered this principle of life—that when I want to do what is right, I inevitably do what is wrong. 22 I love God’s law with all my heart. 23 But there is another power within me that is at war with my mind. This power makes me a slave to the sin that is still within me. 24 Oh, what a miserable person I am! Who will free me from this life that is dominated by sin and death? 25 Thank God! The answer is in Jesus Christ our Lord. So you see how it is: In my mind I really want to obey God’s law, but because of my sinful nature I am a slave to sin.

 

1st John 1:9 is the Christians bar of soap. Confess your sins and don’t hold back. He will cleanse the humble one who confesses.

What does it mean to confess?

The Greek word for confess is homologeō and it means “to say the same thing as another, i.e. to agree with” and in this case the person you are agreeing with is God. Essentially, confessing is a lot like repentance in that it is agreeing with God about you with the intention of doing something about it. Before you are Born Again, you are at war with God, whether you understand that or not. After you are saved you join Gods army in the war against you. The new you and God join forces to try to kill the old you. That’s what dying to self means.

Does we understand they you must “die to self”? Die to you.

“Christ says, ‘Give me All. I don’t want so much of your time and so much of your money and so much of your work: I want you. I have not come to torment your natural self, but to kill it. No half-measures are any good. I don’t want to cut off a branch here and a branch there, I want to have the whole tree down. … Hand over the whole natural self, all the desires which you think innocent as well as the ones you think wicked—the whole outfit. I will give you a new self instead. In fact, I will give you Myself: my own will shall become yours.’” C S LEWIS

Leave a Reply

